Daily Shoe-topia: For my sister’s gold dress

A few days ago my sister asked if I had any ideas for shoes that would go with a gold dress she’s wearing to a holiday party. Holy crap, we’re already talking about holiday parties! Well, she was always better at planning ahead. And, she has a 2-year-old, so heaven knows when she’ll actually be able to shop for herself. So, dear sister, here are some ideas.

I don’t know what the gold dress looks like, and how fancy or shimmery it is, but I know my sister, so I have pretty good idea. You can’t go wrong with sticking with a muted color – nude, tan, camel, champagne, etc. If you stick with plain, you can wear them to work and get lots of use out of them. But since it is a holiday party, you don’t have to be afraid of going fancy and having a bit of embellishment. I know she doesn’t wear heels as high as I do, but these will at least give you some ideas. Aldo, Nina and Nine West normally have some options at all heel heights (and great prices!). All of the shoes below are at Zappos.com.

Nine West "BooBoo" heels. The heel isn't too high, and the color is so muted, they'll go with anything.

Nina "Papina" heels in gold. Now, I would have to see how "gold" they are in person. These look more cream. I'd never suggest gold shoes and a gold dress.

RSVP "Monique" heels in champagne. A little embellishment makes these festive. Zappos has a few shoes with lower heels in this champagne color. It's pretty!

It would take a lot of egg nog for my sister to wear these, but they're just one more idea, and it's a holiday party, so it's an excuse to have your feet sparkle like tinsel! I actually want to get them for work or Sunday brunch. Nina "Erna" heels in bronze.

Sister: you might have to do your own Shoe-topia for us later and let everyone know what you went with and tell us how the party was!

And if anyone else has suggestions, send them to GlassHeelsMail@gmail.com. I’ll post them, as I’m sure the sister would appreciate more ideas.

About elissasblog

About the Author: Elissa writes about her experiences with her career and relationships and the difficulty in keeping the balance, especially while wearing 4-inch heels.
This entry was posted in Daily Shoe-topia, Pretty Princess shoes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Shoe-topia: For my sister’s gold dress

  1. K says:

    Thank you, Lis!

    And to think, I was planning a Shoe-topia to share with you for my new Brooks Adrenaline running shoes. I might own more running shoes than heels. In fact, I know I do.

    I will look into getting one of those pairs. Tune in after the party to see which one I choose! I think you will be impressed with the dress. I’ve had it for years but it hasn’t fit since… we won’t go into that…

  2. elissasblog says:

    Ooooh… can’t wait to see the dress! And again, you don’t have to wear heels that high. Wear a height that you’re comfortable with because there’s nothing worse than mixing alcohol, dancing and unsturdy ankles!!

    And we will have to do a Shoe-topia on running shoes someday. I need the motivation! Maybe we’ll do one in honor of the NYC Marathon. It’s in a few weeks, so start thinking about your favorite pair!

Leave a Reply

