To blog or not to blog….

And … I’m blogging. As many of my friends know, I’ve been thinking about starting a blog for a long time. What kept me from starting? Mostly fear that no one would read or like it, so I guess it was a lack of confidence.

For us over-achievers, the thought of failure is paralyzing, and is exactly what can cause an extremely Type A person to procrastinate. We don’t want to do something if we aren’t going to be good at it. We’d rather do without the embarrassment and nagging from our mothers on the matter.

As for my blog, it has been exactly six months since I have wanted to start one. The gripping fear and self doubt comes with the notion that if you are publishing your work, you are assuming yourself as an expert on a subject. This blog is going to be all about love and career, two subjects that separately, I am certainly no expert. However, looking at the relationship or conflict between the two, I might as well have a Ph.D. on the matter. I really feel like I could write a book on the successes and heart breaks I’ve had in the last decade. But for now I’m taking the writing one step and one day at a time.

So with my new self-given degree, I’ve found the confidence to blog. Welcome to Glass Heels. It’s about the conflict between our personal and professional lives.  It’s the struggle to chose between the amazingly pretty glass slippers that we wish to wear to the ball, and the 4-inch power heels that will take us up the corporate ladder.

So, here we go. Feel free to join in, comment on my columns, share a story, or simply ogle at the shoe choices I’ll be providing daily. No matter if you’re in love, looking for love, have a dream job, or still dreaming, I hope to provide some incite, humor, or even just an “oh yeah, been there” kind of friendliness.

Wish me luck!

Thanks,

Elissa

About elissasblog

About the Author: Elissa writes about her experiences with her career and relationships and the difficulty in keeping the balance, especially while wearing 4-inch heels.
This entry was posted in Weekly Columns. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

