FYR: Match.com article on 8 myths about single people… (myths I’ve never heard)

This article appeared today on Yahoo and Match.com titled “8 myths about being single.”
http://yahoo.match.com/y/article.aspx?articleid=9850&TrackingID=526103&BannerID=692726

Where is this woman hearing these myths? Single people are miserable, lonely, selfish, frivolous and out of shape? What? It makes me wonder if she has a 40-year-old overweight son that is still living in her basement. I’m glad she used facts and figures to debunk her own myths but I really could have done that by scrolling through my Facebook news feed. I see my friends – single and married – who are looking forward to a weekend of football or camping, doing a tour of Boston, running a 10K, having dinner dates, or heading to a brew fest. I realize no one is going to post that they are miserable in their marriages or desperately longing for a partner. But my single friends are just as fabulous and as happy as my married friends, and in some cases in better shape (no love means no love handles!).

Maybe this woman is single and miserable. My girlfriends and I should invite her out for a fun weekend of yoga classes, concerts in the park, shopping, museum visiting, dinner and dancing. We can give her some real life experiences to debunk her lousy myths.

About elissasblog

About the Author: Elissa writes about her experiences with her career and relationships and the difficulty in keeping the balance, especially while wearing 4-inch heels.
This entry was posted in For Your Reference (recommended articles, sites, etc.), Love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

