FYR: Forbes lists World’s Most Powerful Women

First Lady Michelle Obama

A few weeks ago Forbes ranked the top 100 most powerful women in the world. Oprah had held the title of #1 for quite a few years, but if she had to be dethroned, I’m sure she didn’t mind Michelle Obama grabbing the top spot.
Forbes: World’s Most Powerful Women

Since I write about balancing career and relationships, I would love to sit down with each of these women and ask, “Just how do you do it?” If I ever write a book, it would devote a chapter to each of these ladies and ask three questions:
1. Have you ever had to make any sacrifices, your career and success for love, or vice versa?
2. And tips for maintaining balance in your personal and professional life?
3. If you were asked to give it all up tomorrow, in the name of love, would you?

About elissasblog

About the Author: Elissa writes about her experiences with her career and relationships and the difficulty in keeping the balance, especially while wearing 4-inch heels.
This entry was posted in Career, For Your Reference (recommended articles, sites, etc.) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to FYR: Forbes lists World’s Most Powerful Women

  1. How would you answer these questions?

  2. elissasblog says:

    I think my answers are a work in progress, especially since I haven’t reached a level of success like these ladies have. I’d like to, and I imagine that along the way, I will be making sacrifices. But here are my answers….
    1. Yes. Twice I relocated for love. Which lead to two times of me re-relocating to NYC for my career. Those would be my biggest examples of sacrificing one for the other.
    2. Tips? Well after so many ups and downs, I would say set boundaries in the office so that you’re not constantly missing dinners, parties, dates and ways to build your relationship. All work and no play makes you a dull girl. And really know yourself and what you want before making commitments, either for your career or your relationship.
    3. I’d have to say “no” at this point. I haven’t met the person that would make me just forget everything else just to be with him, and I’m not sure that person exists in my world. I’m too career driven at this point to think otherwise.

    Thanks so much for reading and for turning the tables! I write about career vs. love because I haven’t been able to find the balance, so it is a fight for me, hence the “vs.” Would I love to be a CEO of a company? Yes. Would I love for an amazing, handsome Prince Charming to sweep me off my feet? Oh yes. Which would I rather have? Not sure.

Leave a Reply

