525,600 minutes

How do you measure, measure a year?

Last year at this time, I was celebrating the holidays and looking forward to a New Year with a boyfriend of two years, so wonderfully in love. However, I was not looking forward to going back to work, at a job where I was overworked, overstressed and underpaid.

In the last year, the tables have turned – a complete 180, in 365 days.

Cheers! Happy New Year, everyone!

I am now looking forward to starting a dream job on January 3, but over the last year, I lost the boy and am beginning the new endeavor on my own (ouch, it still hurts to see that in writing).

I went from planning a new life in a new city with a guy I would have sworn I would marry… to returning to NYC, jobless and penniless and completely heartbroken.

It will take some time for my heart to heal from the breakup, but it’s with high hopes and high heels that I begin my new job and a new year.

While the last six months have been easily the worst of my life, I know to keep it all in perspective. I returned this fall with nothing more than my résumé, my friends and family. However, I know that so many people go through far worse with far less.

So my New Year’s resolution is to be grateful for everything I have that a paycheck cannot buy.

For my girlfriend who let me crash on her couch, my colleagues who reached out to the networks and contacts and helped me find a job, my dear friends who happily shared their wine, and for all those who answered their phones to listen or offer words of encouragement.

I will dedicate this next year to being thankful, positive, and continuing to entertain with my shoe recommendations.

I will also not take anything for granted, in either career or love. Both can change in the blink of an eye, for better or for worse.

Happy New Year to all of my readers. Wishing you all good luck in keeping your resolutions and success and happiness, no matter what the next 365 days brings.

~ Elissa

About elissasblog

About the Author: Elissa writes about her experiences with her career and relationships and the difficulty in keeping the balance, especially while wearing 4-inch heels.
This entry was posted in Career, Love, Weekly Columns and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 525,600 minutes

  1. Mary Rachelle says:

    xo

  2. Mary Rachelle says:

    In daylight, in sunsets, in midnights and cups of coffee – that’s only the beginning.

Leave a Reply

